Division of Physics in Medicine and Biology
Canadian Association of Physicists




- qbio



Message from the Past Chair

August 27, 2020

We were looking forward to welcoming you in Hamilton this summer and had an exciting DPMB program planned for the 2020 CAP Congress at McMaster University. Unfortunately, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, that was not possible. At the time of writing this newsletter, discussions are underway about planning next year’s virtual congress. Our hope is that we can invite many of the speakers that we had planned for this year’s congress to next year’s version. The one session that we did run at this year’s virtual congress was the DPMB student competition which turned out to be a great success! We had 8 students participating and our division winner, Claire Park, went on to win the overall CAP student oral competition. Congratulations Claire! I’d like to thank Edward Kendall, Daniel Charlebois and Dan Xiao for volunteering as judges for our division student competition and to thank all of you who took the time to listen to either the divisional entrants or the CAP finalists or both. The audience for the students were gratifying large. I’d like to welcome Cornelia Hoehr (TRIUMF) to the role of Vice Chair. You may remember Cornelia’s excellent talk on ‘Cyclotrons for Medicine’ at the DPMB 101 session at the 2019 congress. The DPMB Chair role now passes over to Ozzy Mermut (York University). We have decided to profile Cornelia and Ozzy in this newsletter so that you can get to better know your division executive. Melanie Campbell continues to serve as division treasurer. Finally, a huge thanks to Francis Lin for his contributions to DPMB over the past 3 years. Francis has been maintaining the DPMB website and these newsletters were one of his initiatives that he introduced while on the DPMB exec. We wish you all the best Francis and hope to see you at a future CAP congress.

Emily Heath
Carleton University
DPMB Past Chair